Slowing Down…It’s About Time

f4d1fb99a1309dde503c422b6e9033b5

The past of couple weeks have been filled with nothing but stress and more stress! As a college student with a full course load, a job, and many commitments outside of class, my schedule is constantly packed with something that I have to do or somewhere I have to be. Which usually leaves little time for me to take a minute to slow down, breathe, and enjoy what God has blessed me with.

When I reflect on everything that has occurred within these past couple of weeks, I realize that I have been going through the motions of life, which I do not like…at all! I don’t want to use the time I have been given here on earth just going through the motions of life, but instead appreciating every moment that I have been given and living my life to its fullest capability.  Before the sudden death of my Uncle, about two years ago, I never had a desire to live life to the fullest and cherish the moments that God has blessed us.  My desire to cherish the moments, love life, and live for God continued to grow when a few other family members recently passed away. I believe that my lack of desire to enjoy life and the blessings I have been given was due to my depression, and a few other things that I have struggled with in the past, and still continue to struggle with.

Even though I am not currently depressed, I feel like I am slowly falling back to my old ways by not living my life the way God wants me to live it and by going through the motions of life. The last thing I want to do is to fall back to any of my old ways and in order to do that I have to make an effort to step outside of my daily routine and my comfort zone. We honestly cannot grow in our spiritual life and faith if we are not willing to make an effort to improve who we are, what we do, and how we think.

Everyone has something they can improve on in their life, which will allow them to grow spiritual. For me this means making an effort to not fall back into my old ways and appreciate what I have been given and live my life the way God wants me to. I am going make more of an effort by participating in the Slow Down Challenge by Jeff Goins. The Slow Down Challenge is a five day challenge that forces an individual to slow down and notice the little things in life that we usually would miss out on.  On each of the five days I am given an assignment that I must complete. I will be posting a blog a day for the next five days to reflect on my experience with the challenge. If you would like to join me on this challenge you can sign up by going to this website: http://goinswriter.com/slow-down/ . If you decide to take the challenge I would love to hear about your experience completing the challenge through comments on this blog post or even simply by leaving a link to your blog where you will be sharing your experience.

One thought on “Slowing Down…It’s About Time

  1. Even though I am not currently depressed, I feel like I am slowly falling back to my old ways by not living my life the way God wants me to live it and by going through the motions of life. – I have been feeling the same way my dear! We’re gonna get through it. I promise.

Leave a Reply

